JEFFERSON CITY, MO – Sydney Stundebeck, a senior at Salisbury High School (Salisbury R-IV), has been awarded the 2021 Charles E. Kruse Agricultural Scholarship by Missouri Farm Bureau. Sydney is the daughter of Chariton County Farm Bureau members Russ and Jill Stundebeck.

Stundebeck will graduate from Salisbury High School this May with plans to enroll at the University of Missouri (Columbia) and study Agriculture Business Management. Throughout her high school career, she has been a model student, amassing a 4.0 grade point average while also serving as chapter president of the Salisbury Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA), as president of the Salisbury FFA, and as second vice president for Missouri FFA Area 4. Stundebeck was voted treasurer for the SHS Class of 2021 and serves as the secretary for both student council and the National Honor Society. Athletically, she is the team captain of her school’s varsity track & field and golf teams and has played a vital role with Salisbury’s Fellowship of Christian Athletes organization.

She has also served her community in a variety of ways, including a nine-year involvement with the Chariton Shining Stars 4-H club. Stundebeck is a member of St. Joseph Catholic Church, where she plays the organ during weekend mass services. Her volunteer efforts include several local events, including the Chariton County Farm Bureau Annual Meeting.

“Sydney is an extremely involved and well-rounded student,” said Leanna Thomson, Salisbury High School counselor. “She is an amazing school and community citizen, and she has been a role model for her peers and younger students. She has great potential for future success.”

The Charles E. Kruse Agricultural Scholarship recognizes the former President of Missouri Farm Bureau who served the organization in many ways throughout his tenure. Kruse, a fourth-generation farmer from Stoddard County, also served as the director of the Missouri Department of Agriculture and achieved the rank of Brigadier General during a distinguished military career. Applicants for the $1,000 award must be part of a Missouri Farm Bureau member family, have been accepted by a Missouri four-year college or university, plan to pursue a degree in an agricultural field of study, and have displayed high levels of involvement and leadership in school and community activities.